December 17, 2018 Infrastructure Surtax Advisory Committee Meeting

The regular meeting of the Okaloosa County Infrastructure Surtax Advisory Committee was called to order at 10:00 a.m. in the Okaloosa County Administration Building, 1st Floor Training Room. Present were John Hofstad, County Administrator; Greg Kisela, Deputy County Administrator; Jason Autrey, Public Works Director; Stephanie Herrick, Office of Management & Budget Director; Hon. J.D. Peacock, Clerk of Courts and Comptroller, Mr. Gary Stanford, Director of Treasury & Board Services; Mr. Christopher Saul, Public Information Officer; Mr. Henry Berry, District 1 member; Brig. Gen. (Ret) Robert Buhrow, District 2 member; Ms. Kathleen Sharon, District 3 member (Chairman); Mr. Matthew Turpin, District 4 member; Mr. Jim Foreman, District 5 member (Vice Chairman).

Opening Remarks and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Ms. Sharon opened the meeting. Mr. Berry made a motion to approve the previous meeting minutes, with a second by Mr. Foreman. The minutes were approved, 4-0. (Mr. Turpin arrived immediately after the vote was taken).

Public Comments

Mr. Dave Skarzynski asked for clarification of the distribution of the funds. Mr. Hofstad explained that the projects were grouped into three basic categories: Public Safety, Stormwater, and Transportation. The County will attempt as best it can to divide the funds equally among the 3 categories. Mr. Autrey added that stormwater and roads go hand-in-hand and always intertwine.

Presentation by Mark Galvin, Managing Director for Hilltop Securities

Mr. Hofstad introduced all staff members. Hon. Mr. Peacock explained his role as Comptroller and some of the changes in the Clerk's office.

Mr. Galvin explained his role and services he can provide to help finance projects as they move forward and gave slide presentation. Ms. Sharon asked Mr. Galvin to speak to the amount able to be borrowed is dependent on the life span of surtax income and loan terms up to October 2028.

Mr. Berry asked for a timeline for the PJ Adams projects. Mr. Autrey explained that the project is already funded for the first 3 phases. We are approximately 3-4 years out to borrow for the construction phase of the SW bypass. He also discussed many potential issues that may come into play, such as right-of-way acquisitions, timing with the state in building the

overpass, etc.

Discussion on Projects List

Mr. Hofstad opened with a recap of funding options and emphasized the failing 911 notification system, which will be a priority.

Mr. Autrey discussed the project list and gave a list of projects ready to go: SW Bypass, Commons Drive improvements, John King widening, Redwood Ave. and John Sims Parkway sidewalk project, 6th Ave. and Port Dixie stormwater project, Beachview Drive stormwater, Santa Rosa Boulevard stormwater and roadway improvements, and Standish Court stormwater enhancements.

Mr. Hofstad directed to put the projects in timing order and then the committee can vote on the project order at the next meeting. Mr. Autrey explained that the projects could move up or move back on the timeline based upon input from the committee and need.

Mr. Turpin asked about the accounting and keeping track of funds. Hon. Peacock asked for input on as to how the committee would like to see it and said the Clerk's office will track.

Mr. Hofstad stated he wants to be able to drill down and see exactly what dollars were spent where on each project so he can convey that to the citizens of the County. Mr. Kisela explained that the majority of projects, if we are not able to accomplish in-house, that we already have six consultants on board to assist through task orders (limited). A larger piece of the project will need to be bid out.

Mr. Autrey said that he would have a breakdown of ready-to-go projects, and when to request funding, etc. in a 12-month timeline for the next meeting.

Public Comments

None

ADJOURNMENT

The next meeting was scheduled for Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 10:00 A.M., location to be determined. The meeting adjourned at 11:25 a.m.

(These minutes were transcribed by Grant Dugre)